Soul Destruction


Soul Destruction is the second studio album (third overall) released by Scottish heavy metal band The Almighty. It was released byPolydor Records in the United Kingdom in 1991. According to front-man Ricky Warwick, the album’s songs centered around four subjects:

The Album is about four basic things – hate, love, religion and sex. All those subjects fascinate me, especially sex… I spent a lot of time in bed with my wife researching new lyrics for the album. ~Ricky Warwick, 1991[2]

It was The Almighty’s last album with founding guitarist Tantrum who would be replaced by Alice Cooper guitarist Pete Friesen before the recording of their next album, Powertrippin’. Upon release the album peaked at #22 on the British album charts.

Three singles were released from the album in multiple formats in 1991. “Free ‘n’ Easy” (promo CD, 12″ vinyl7″ vinylcassette), “Devil’s Toy” (promo CD, 7″ & 12″ vinyl) and “Little Lost Sometimes” (promo CD, 12″ & 7″ vinyl).

The Japanese release of Soul Destruction included two bonus tracks, “Bodies“, a Sex Pistols cover and an acoustic version of “Hell to Pay”. Both of these tracks previously appeared as B-sides to various “Free ‘n’ Easy” singles in the UK.

Track listing

  1. “Crucify” (Ricky Warwick) – 4:42
  2. “Free ‘N’ Easy” (Floyd London, Warwick) – 4:24
  3. “Joy Bang One Time” (London, Tantrum, Warwick) – 3:33
  4. “Love Religion” (Del James, London, Warwick)- 4:41
  5. “Bandaged Knees” (James Warwick) – 6:11
  6. “Praying to the Red Light” (Tantrum, Warwick) – 4:49
  7. “Sin Against the Light” (Warwick) – 4:59
  8. “Little Lost Sometimes” (Tantrum, Warwick) – 7:01
  9. “Devil’s Toy” (Warwick) – 5:23
  10. “What More Do You Want” (James, Warwick) – 4:32
  11. “Hell to Pay” (Warwick) – 4:47
  12. “Loaded” (Warwick) – 3:32